What sense perceives god?

As promised, this is a Tweetblog based on a question I asked on Twitter and all your replies.

I’m posting it mostly for fun, (read: don’t take this too seriously), most of your replies are hilarious, thought we could get a kick out of these tweets, and hopefully someone will eventually come up with an answer that we can grasp.

We need to ask serious questions like: Where is god, why can’t we see it, hear it, touch it…

What is the “God sense”, and what body part or phenomena is it responding to, and can its existence be detected in any way?

If there is such thing as the “God Sense,” why do different people perceive god in different ways?

So for now we’ll go with this assertion: I don’t think there is a “God Sense,” and if there is, I wanna know where it is and how it works, and some evidence would be nice.

(All the links and buttons in the tweets are live links, so if you want to reply, retweet, bookmark, favorite, you can do it from within each Tweet.)

 

If you believe in god, what exactly is the sense that perceives god, & how does it work? None of the known five, I guess. #atheism #atheistSat May 28 23:04:37 via SocialScope

 

More after the jump…

 

The five senses operate on objects in the physical realm,their existence is subject to independent verification through other means.#atheismSat May 28 23:15:32 via HootSuite

I’m just asking. People often say they can ‘feel’, or ‘sense’, or ‘experience’ god’s existence. I really wanna know how they do it. #atheismSat May 28 23:23:13 via SocialScope

So these are all your replies, thanks much, some of these replies are so funny, you’ll see.

 

@Monicks Seeing as God is beyond this world, the known universe, He wouldn’t be sensed with the ordinary senses. 😉Sat May 28 23:07:09 via Twitter for Mac

That’s kind of my point, these people who claim they sense god don’t have extraordinary senses, do they? and if they do, why, how, what body part and all the questions raised before.

 

@Monicks Well, not to disagree with you, but there are a LOT more than 5 known senses. =pSat May 28 23:07:21 via web

It is okay to disagree with me now and then, especially when I’m being taught stuff.

 

@Monicks There’s more than five. There’s balance, proprioception, thermoception, sense of time…Sat May 28 23:08:55 via web

Yes, okay. Waitaminnite! Sense of time?

 

@Monicks I believe in God, but not dogmatically so (i.e. I could be wrong!). I do have a healthy respect for the secularist position too.Sat May 28 23:11:27 via web

So, I guess what you’re saying is you haven’t sensed god either. Yes, we all could be wrong, just admitting that is a huge part of being a free thinker.

 

masturbation RT @Monicks: People often say they can ‘experience’ god’s existence. I really wanna know how they do it. #atheismSat May 28 23:24:18 via TweetDeck

okays 😮

 

@Monicks People also say they can feel ghosts or the presence of an ancestor. Human perception is terribly flawed.Sat May 28 23:24:20 via Echofon

Well, I know atheists who swear to have seen ghosts. Same thing as god? I don’t think so.

 

@Monicks : Umm… psychotropics?Sat May 28 23:24:32 via web

As in chemically induced state? That’s cheating. 😉

 

@Monicks I recommend reading “The God Part of the Brain” by Alper. Explains it all to perfection. That’s why people feel god they think.Sun May 29 00:56:41 via Twitter for iPhone

Noted.

 

@Monicks From the elaborate explainations I’ve heard… I suspect it must feel a bit like needing a pee… heh heh :oDSat May 28 23:25:12 via web

😀

 

@Monicks There are technically 7 senses – most miss out vestibular and proprioceptive senses. Still no god one tho. #Pedant #AthiestSat May 28 23:25:17 via Twitter for BlackBerry®

 

Thank you, formally learned now. Seven senses. Love your hashtag. 😛

[blackbirdpie url=”https://twitter.com/SimplyAnthony/status/74617461475000320″%5D

I’ve recently grown curious of the Buddhist philosophy. I see what you mean, still Buddhists don’t have a god to worship or sense or feel, not an entity. I’m not sure it equates.

 

@UTSavage @Monicks perhaps you should achieve an altered state of conciousness using drugs or dancing like a dervish.Sat May 28 23:26:33 via web

LOL 😀

 

Well, yes. That’s what it usually is.

 

@Monicks Aside from drugs and temporal lobe dysfunction, I have no idea. Maybe it is just self-deception.Sat May 28 23:27:19 via Twitter for Android

Or like I shouldn’t call it but I so do sometimes, self-inflicted stupidity.

 

@Monicks To be honest, I want to know how too! I’m a Christian, but I don’t buy into the whole “I can feel God” thing.Sat May 28 23:31:22 via web

When/if we find out, I’ll let you know.

 

@Carlos_S01 @Monicks Been there done that, and that’s not god, or if it is, pfft…Sat May 28 23:36:55 via web

pfft, indeed.

 

@Monicks You juste aren’t trying hard enough! #theistLogic #facepalmSat May 28 23:41:29 via TweetDeck

Hhahaha  – Who said I was trying! 😛

[blackbirdpie url=”https://twitter.com/stevebritgimp/status/74622255933562880″%5D

[blackbirdpie url=”https://twitter.com/stevebritgimp/status/74623387204468736″%5D

Or, like someone implied before, you need an extraordinary sense.

 

@Monicks A sense of decorum :pSat May 28 23:57:46 via web

LOL – Of course! 😀

 

@Monicks As someone who was seriously religious at one point, one can fool oneself into thinking every little feeling is god.Sun May 29 00:25:32 via Twitter for iPhone

 

@Monicks Also, rare but real states of consciousness that we still don’t understand (like mindfulness) can be misunderstood as god.Sun May 29 00:27:14 via Twitter for iPhone

Did you at some point have an extraordinary experience of the sort?

 

@UTSavage @Monicks @britt_bake what they “feel” are brain chemicals, endorphins, etc., lke after a good piece of cake 🙂Sun May 29 00:29:31 via web

or chocolate! but nobody calls it god.

 

@Monicks Hallucination.Sun May 29 00:47:19 via web

🙂

 

Ok, I stand corrected, there are more than five senses. Still none of them is adequate to perceive god – and, you guys are hilarious! (◕‿◕)’Sat May 28 23:54:38 via SocialScope

 

RT @Monicks Ok, I stand corrected, there are more than five senses. Still none of them is adequate to perceive god // “sense” of humor?Sun May 29 01:10:02 via Twittelator

I have that one, and never felt god so, no. 🙂

 

@Monicks this type of argument discounts all feelings or emotionsSun May 29 01:11:54 via HootSuite

Because people who say they can feel god are sure they perceive it like physically.

 

@Monicks I have experienced a numinous kind of joy at a sunrise, etc. But nothing I’d call a greater power. I (cont) http://tl.gd/aoj1c3Sun May 29 01:26:51 via Panoramic moTweets

 

@Monicks I admit that there is a power greater than me, and I feel its presence all the time…gravity.Sun May 29 01:27:41 via Panoramic moTweets

Hahaha #WIN 😀

 

.@Monicks they’re lying and/or exaggerating. All humans have the capacity for awe, theists just often misattribute.Sun May 29 01:41:56 via TweetDeck

Everyone has the capacity of awe, I agree. You think they are just lying? …to themselves?

[blackbirdpie url=”https://twitter.com/dawkinsassange/status/74671801636110336″%5D

Hahaha – good one, although that one is not extraordinary in the least.

 

@Monicks Your preconception of God inhibits your ability to see God!Sun May 29 04:03:46 via web

But everyone that is told that there’s a god, automatically gets a preconception of it, don’t they?

 

@Monicks There’s one other possibility for the “god sense” you were looking for.Sun May 29 15:59:45 via web

 

@Monicks You said it yourself; “Love is a condition in which happiness of the other person…” This feeling is often applied to gods.Sun May 29 16:18:28 via web

In case you’re curious, Eric is referring to this tweet:

 

Love is a condition in which the happiness of the other person is essential to your own. We can only be happy when we make others so. ♥Sun May 29 15:45:19 via web

Although, I’m not sure I follow his logic.

I missed your tweet? Have a better answer? Tweet me.

One thought on “What sense perceives god?

  1. Pingback: The GOD Part of the Brain | Still thinking...

Leave a Reply

